Best Image Generation Models for Apple Silicon Macs in 2026: Qwen-Image-2.1 and GLM-Image

Rankings 2026-09-26 Last updated 2026-09-26 14 min read By Q4KM

Quick Answer

Qwen-Image-2.1 (Qwen) is the top pick as of September 2026 because it is the newest release in this ranking; with no public benchmark yet, the ordering is newest release first, then downloads [4]. In order, the ranking is Qwen-Image-2.1 (Qwen), GLM-Image (zai-org), Qwen-Image-2512 (Qwen), HunyuanImage-3.0 (tencent), SDXL-Turbo (stabilityai), and Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 (stabilityai) [4][7].

Key Takeaways

How do local image generation models compare on memory, context, licenses and published benchmarks?

Model Org Params Quant/VRAM Released (date) License Key benchmark (date)
Qwen-Image-2.1 [4] Qwen [4] 7.1B [4] 4-bit weights: 3.55 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [4] 2026-09-14 [4] Qwen Research License [4] no public benchmark yet
GLM-Image [7] zai-org [7] 6.9B [7] 4-bit weights: 3.45 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [7] 2026-01-08 [7] MIT [7] no public benchmark yet
Qwen-Image-2512 [8] Qwen [8] 20.4B [8] 4-bit weights: 10.2 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [8] 2025-12-30 [8] Apache-2.0 [8] no public benchmark yet
HunyuanImage-3.0 [5] tencent [5] 83B [5] 4-bit weights: 41.5 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [5] 2025-09-25 [5] tencent-hunyuan-community [5] no public benchmark yet
SDXL-Turbo — established pick [3] stabilityai [3] 2.6B [3] 4-bit weights: 1.3 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [3] 2023-11-27 [3] sai-nc-community [3] no public benchmark yet
Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 — established pick [1] stabilityai [1] 2.6B [1] 4-bit weights: 1.3 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) [1] 2023-07-25 [1] openrail++ [1] no public benchmark yet

Which image generation models should you consider for an Apple Silicon Mac?

1. Qwen-Image-2.1

Qwen-Image-2.1 by Qwen ranks first because its September 14, 2026 release is the newest among the eligible candidates; the position reflects recency, not demonstrated benchmark superiority.[4] Ranking note: newest release first, then downloads. The ranking admits only text-to-image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record, using Hugging Face’s text-to-image pipeline tag. Qwen-Image-2.1 has no public benchmark yet, so its position should not be read as a measured advantage in image quality or Mac performance.

Qwen lists 7.1 billion parameters, BF16 weights totaling 33.1 GB, and the Qwen Research License.[4] At four-bit precision, parameter storage is approximately 3.55 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) from the cited 7.1 billion parameters.[4] Treat that calculation as a weight-storage estimate, not a complete hardware requirement. The estimate does not establish how much unified memory a Mac needs to load the model and generate an image. A supported context length is not specified here.

Consider Qwen-Image-2.1 for exploratory local text-to-image work when evaluating a recent release matters and the Qwen Research License suits the project.[4] The practical caveat is deployment uncertainty: a working Apple Silicon runtime, compatible quantized weights, total memory use, and generation speed are not established here. Before choosing hardware around this model, verify the intended runtime and its memory requirements; the parameter estimate alone cannot justify a Mac purchase.

2. GLM-Image

GLM-Image by zai-org ranks second because its January 8, 2026 release follows Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2.1, published September 14, 2026.[7][4] GLM-Image has no public benchmark yet.[7] The ordering basis is newest release first, then downloads; its position is not a measured image-quality or Mac-speed result. The ranking admits only text-to-image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record, using Hugging Face’s text-to-image pipeline tag.

GLM-Image lists 6.9 billion parameters, BF16 weights totaling 35.8 GB, and an MIT license.[7] For those 6.9 billion parameters, 4-bit weights would occupy 3.45 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[7] Treat that calculation as a weight-storage estimate, not a total unified-memory requirement or confirmation that a particular Apple Silicon Mac can run the model. A context length is not specified.[7]

GLM-Image is a candidate for local image-generation experiments where the MIT license suits the project’s requirements.[7] Before choosing hardware, confirm that your intended runtime supports the model on Apple Silicon, supports the desired quantization, and documents total memory use. The practical caveat is that the listed specifications do not establish a working Mac configuration, generation speed, or benchmark-backed quality advantage.

3. Qwen-Image-2512

Qwen-Image-2512 by Qwen ranks third under the ordering rule “newest release first, then downloads”: its December 30, 2025 release precedes both GLM-Image from zai-org and Qwen-Image-2.1 from Qwen.[8][7][4] Qwen-Image-2512 has no public benchmark yet, so its position does not establish an image-quality advantage. Downloads serve only as a tiebreaker; the release dates determine the order here.[8][7][4]

Qwen-Image-2512 has 20.4B parameters and a listed BF16 weight size of 57.7 GB.[8] Quantized weight storage would be 10.2 GB at 4-bit, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) from the cited 20.4B parameters.[8] Treat that estimate as a weight-storage budget, not a complete Mac unified-memory requirement. The calculation does not establish which Apple Silicon configuration can load the full pipeline and complete image generation, so it cannot justify a specific hardware recommendation.

Consider Qwen-Image-2512 for local text-to-image experimentation when its Apache-2.0 license suits your project and you can validate a compatible runtime before committing hardware.[8] License choice is a concrete reason to evaluate it; a claimed quality or speed lead is not established. The practical caveat is that quantized weight arithmetic alone does not demonstrate Apple Silicon compatibility or usable performance. Confirm the intended runtime’s support and total memory requirements before treating the model as a local deployment choice.

4. HunyuanImage-3.0

HunyuanImage-3.0 by tencent ranks here because its release predates the Qwen and zai-org entries ahead of it.[4][5][7][8] The ordering basis is newest release first, then downloads. The ranking admits only text-to-image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record; tencent published the HunyuanImage 3.0 Technical Report.[6] HunyuanImage-3.0 has no public benchmark yet, so its position does not establish a measured image-quality advantage.

HunyuanImage-3.0 has 83B parameters, a context length of 22,800 tokens and listed BF16 weights of 168.5 GB.[5] Its 4-bit weight budget is 41.5 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) from the cited 83B parameters.[5] Treat that calculation as a weight-storage estimate, not a complete unified-memory requirement. For an Apple Silicon Mac, hardware planning must leave additional memory beyond the estimated weights; the calculation alone cannot establish which Mac configuration will run the model.

Consider HunyuanImage-3.0 for text-to-image workflows where the documented context allowance matters to your prompt design.[5] The practical caveat is deployment uncertainty: neither the parameter-based estimate nor the listed weights establish a working quantized Apple Silicon runtime or generation speed. The model uses the tencent-hunyuan-community license; review its terms before adopting it for a project.[5]

5. SDXL-Turbo

SDXL-Turbo by stabilityai ranks fifth as an established pick, with a Hugging Face publication date of November 27, 2023.[3] The ordering follows “newest release first, then downloads”; its established-pick exemption admits it despite its age but cannot put it in the lead. SDXL-Turbo qualifies as one of its family’s three most-downloaded models, with 981,369 downloads over the reported thirty-day period.[3] SDXL-Turbo has no public benchmark yet, so its position does not establish superior image quality or Mac performance.

SDXL-Turbo has 2.6 billion parameters and listed F32 weights totaling 41.6 GB.[3] Quantized weight storage would be approximately 1.3 GB at four-bit precision, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) from the cited parameter count.[3] Treat that estimate as a weight-storage calculation, not a complete unified-memory requirement. Neither a minimum Mac memory configuration nor a supported local runtime is established here, so the estimate alone cannot determine which Apple Silicon Mac will run it successfully.

Consider SDXL-Turbo for a local text-to-image evaluation when estimated weight storage is a selection priority and an established model is acceptable. Confirm runtime compatibility and total memory requirements before choosing hardware. The licensing caveat is its sai-nc-community license: review the terms against your intended use before adopting it.[3]

6. Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0

Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 by stabilityai ranks sixth as an established pick: its July 2023 release predates stabilityai’s SDXL Turbo, published in November 2023.[1][3] Its place reflects release order, not a demonstrated image-quality deficit. The model has 2.6 billion parameters, lists 35.2 GB of F32 weights, and uses the openrail++ license.[1] Its benchmark status for this ranking is “no public benchmark yet.”

For an Apple Silicon Mac, the parameter-based 4-bit weight budget is 1.3 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes) from the cited 2.6 billion parameters.[1] Treat that as a weight-storage estimate, not a complete unified-memory requirement or proof of compatibility. A specific Mac configuration cannot be justified from that calculation alone. Choose this established text-to-image option when evaluating a model with an accompanying architecture paper; the practical caveat is that neither Mac performance nor a working quantized configuration is established here.[2]

Ranking note: this ranking admits only text-to-image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record, using Hugging Face’s text-to-image pipeline tag. With no public benchmark scoring any candidate, the ordering is newest release first, then downloads.[4][7][8][5][3][1] Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 and SDXL Turbo bypass the recency gate as established picks; that exemption does not confer the leading position.[1][3]

How can you estimate quantized weight memory from parameter counts?

Estimate quantized weight memory by multiplying the parameter count by the storage per parameter: Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2.1 has 7.1B parameters, giving 3.55 GB at 4-bit, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[4]

Apply the same calculation consistently. The zai-org GLM-Image model has 6.9B parameters, giving 3.45 GB at 4-bit, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[7] Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2512 has 20.4B parameters, giving 10.2 GB at 4-bit, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[8] Tencent’s HunyuanImage-3.0 has 83B parameters, giving 41.5 GB at 4-bit, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[5] Treat those results as parameter-based weight estimates, not measured application memory.

Keep published weight sizes separate from calculated estimates. Qwen-Image-2.1 lists BF16 weights of 33.1 GB, while GLM-Image lists BF16 weights of 35.8 GB.[4][7] Those published totals describe a different quantity from the calculation above; avoid silently substituting a repository’s weight total for its stated parameter count.

For an Apple Silicon buying or deployment decision, use the calculation as an initial weight budget. A parameter-derived estimate does not establish total runtime memory, compatibility with a local application, or generation speed. A claim that a model fits a particular Mac needs a separately supported memory estimate or a measured result. Keep the word “estimated” beside the value wherever it appears.

What licenses do local image generation models use?

Local image generation models use a mix of MIT, Apache-2.0, OpenRAIL++, and publisher-specific licenses, so license checks belong alongside hardware checks when choosing a model.[1][3][4][5][7][8]

Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2.1 uses the Qwen Research License.[4] Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2512 uses Apache-2.0.[8] Those releases illustrate why you should check the exact model rather than assume a shared license across a model family. For a deployment decision, record the repository and its license together.

GLM-Image from zai-org uses MIT.[7] Tencent’s HunyuanImage-3.0 uses the tencent-hunyuan-community license.[5] Before adopting either model, check the applicable terms against your intended use: internal experimentation, a customer-facing service, distribution of weights, or distribution of a modified version.

Stability AI’s Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 uses openrail++, while Stability AI’s SDXL Turbo uses sai-nc-community.[1][3] Treat those as separate licensing decisions despite their shared publisher. Avoid assuming that permission associated with one release applies to another.

For an Apple Silicon deployment, assess licensing separately from whether the weights can run locally. Read the selected release’s terms for commercial use, redistribution, attribution, and use restrictions before committing engineering time. Local execution should never substitute for that review.

How are newer releases and established picks ranked without public benchmarks?

Ranking note: no public benchmark scores any candidate, so the rule gives: newest release first, then downloads. [4][7][8][5][3][1] Scope: this ranking admits only text to image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record, using Hugging Face’s text-to-image pipeline tag.

Qwen-Image-2.1 (Qwen) takes first place because its September 14, 2026 release is the newest among the eligible candidates. [4][7][8][5][3][1] Its position reflects recency, not a demonstrated image-quality advantage.

Next comes GLM-Image (zai-org), published January 8, 2026, followed by Qwen-Image-2512 (Qwen), published December 30, 2025. [7][8] HunyuanImage-3.0 (tencent) follows, with a September 25, 2025 publication date. [5] Every candidate carries the status “no public benchmark yet”; no benchmark score separates these releases.

SDXL-Turbo (stabilityai) and stabilityai/stable-diffusion-xl-base-1.0 from stabilityai follow as established picks, in that order by publication date. [3][1] Both qualify through the exemption for their family’s three most-downloaded models, bypassing the twelve-month recency gate; the exemption cannot give either first place. [3][1]

Downloads break release-date ties only. A future leaderboard can compare candidates it actually scores, but an older scored model cannot displace a newer unscored model. Model-card benchmark results must be labeled “self-reported.” For Apple Silicon buyers, the ordering therefore indicates release priority, not measured Mac performance.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which image generation model ranks first for an Apple Silicon Mac?

Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2.1 ranks first because its September 14, 2026 release is the newest eligible release.[4][7][8][5] Its 7.1B parameters imply 3.55 GB of weight storage, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[4] The model has no public benchmark yet. Treat that placement as a recency recommendation, not a demonstrated advantage in image quality or Mac performance.

How are the models ranked?

Scope: this ranking admits only text to image models from labs with a published paper or leaderboard record (Hugging Face pipeline tags: text-to-image). Ranking note: newest release first, then downloads. Order: Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2.1,[4] zai-org’s GLM-Image,[7] Qwen’s Qwen-Image-2512,[8] Tencent’s HunyuanImage 3.0,[5] Stability AI’s SDXL-Turbo,[3] and Stability AI’s Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0.[1] Both Stability AI entries are established picks that bypass the 12-month gate through family download standing; that exemption cannot confer first place.[3][1]

How much memory do the recent models need for quantized weights?

Weight storage is 3.55 GB for Qwen-Image-2.1’s 7.1B parameters, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes);[4] 3.45 GB for GLM-Image’s 6.9B parameters, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes);[7] and 10.2 GB for Qwen-Image-2512’s 20.4B parameters, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[8] HunyuanImage 3.0’s 83B parameters imply 41.5 GB, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[5] Those calculations describe weight storage, not verified Mac memory requirements.

Are the established Stable Diffusion models worth considering on a Mac with limited memory?

Stability AI’s established picks offer a smaller parameter-based weight estimate than the recent candidates.[1][3][4][7][8][5] SDXL-Turbo and Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 each list 2.6B parameters, implying 1.3 GB each, estimated (params x 0.5 bytes).[3][1] Those estimates make them worth evaluating when weight storage matters, but do not establish runtime memory use, compatible quantization support or generation speed on your Mac.

Which licenses should I check before using generated images commercially?

GLM-Image lists MIT,[7] while Qwen-Image-2512 lists Apache-2.0.[8] Qwen-Image-2.1 uses the Qwen Research License,[4] and HunyuanImage 3.0 uses tencent-hunyuan-community.[5] The established picks differ too: SDXL-Turbo lists sai-nc-community,[3] while Stable Diffusion XL Base 1.0 lists openrail++.[1] Read the applicable license before commercial use; a license label alone does not settle every question about your intended deployment or generated images.

Do published benchmarks show which model produces better images on Apple Silicon?

Every ranked candidate currently has no public benchmark yet, so the ordering cannot establish an image-quality winner or a Mac speed advantage. HunyuanImage 3.0 specifies a context length of 22,800 tokens,[5] but context capacity is not an image-quality score. Choose through evaluation of your own prompts and intended local runtime rather than treating release order as measured performance.

Sources

  1. stabilityai/stable-diffusion-xl-base-1.0 model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  2. SDXL: Improving Latent Diffusion Models for High-Resolution Image Synthesis — 2023-07-04
  3. stabilityai/sdxl-turbo model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  4. Qwen/Qwen-Image-2.1 model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  5. tencent/HunyuanImage-3.0 model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  6. HunyuanImage 3.0 Technical Report — 2025-09-28
  7. zai-org/GLM-Image model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  8. Qwen/Qwen-Image-2512 model card (Hugging Face) — 2026-09-25
  9. Qwen-Image Technical Report — 2025-08-04

Get these models on a hard drive

Skip the downloads. Browse our catalog of 985+ commercially-licensed AI models, available pre-loaded on high-speed drives.

Browse Model Catalog